Tags

, , , , , , ,

Farming is not a 9-5 job. Nor is it a ‘sun up ‘til sun down’ job.

Farming is a 24/7 job.

This past week I had the privilege of helping my brother on the farm as I was home for Spring Break from Missouri State University. When I was younger, it was not unusual for my brother to call me to come pick him up from the field or help flag as he moved from field to field.

However, the request my brother had for me as we were coming home from Sunday evening Bible Study at the Wakenda Baptist Church was one that I was quite surprised to receive, yet very readily I said yes, excited to help in any way that I could.

My brother tries not to work on Sunday, but as weather in north Missouri would have it, rain was in the forecast for Monday through Wednesday. After church on Sunday morning my brother had headed to the field to rip. As he was finishing in the back of the field to head to Bible Study he gained a flat tire on his 7430 John Deere tractor.

My brother is an optimistic person though, and as my mother and I picked him up in time to go to Bible Study his words reflected that attitude: “I’m just glad I had enough time to walk to the road to get a ride to Bible Study.” We left the tractor and all our worries in the field and went to Bible Study.

During Bible Study we have been study the Bible in chronological order and the lesson was about the dead girl and the sick woman that Jesus healed from Matthew 9:18-26, Mark 5:21-43, and Luke 8:40-56. In my perspective, this story reflects the attitude Christians should have when facing troubles. Jairus Believed that Jesus would heal his daughter and the sick woman had Faith that by just touching Jesus’ clothes she would be healed.

Knowing that rain was coming and the tractor would be stuck in the field if we received the rain that was forecasted, my brother asked me to help him take the tire and wheel off so he could take it to John Deere to be fixed on Monday morning.

Now this job was not easy, the tire and wheel easily weighed 300 pounds combined. After an hour and a half, we succeeded and were able to load the tire and wheel into the back of the John Deere Gator to be taken to town the next day. The time now read 11:07 p.m.

So next time you are faced with a worry in your life remember the Faith that Jarius had and Trust Jesus through your troubles. As my brother did, he was able to fix the tire and wheel and get it put back on the tractor before the rain came. And now, instead of the tractor being stuck in the field, he has now traded the tractor and has a new John Deere 7430 sitting in his shed.

Happy Farming!

