Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The countdown just keeps dwindling. When I say dwindling, I mean it’s shrinking, dramatically.

I will be leaving for Ghana in 19 days!

Now with my fast approaching departure date many emotions are flying around.

Just to name a few:

  • Excitement
    • I mean seriously, how could I not be excited about leaving for Ghana in 19 days? It has been one year since I attended my first meeting about Studying Abroad, back then all I knew was that I didn’t want to go to Europe, Asia or Australia. This only left me with a few options, Africa, The Middle East or South America. And well, I was pretty dead set on Africa, just had to examine my options.
  • Confusion
    • How in the world did the girl from the middle of nowhere, who has hardly traveled, except for on scheduled trips through organizations, convince myself and my family to go to Ghana?!?!?!
  • Thankfulness
    • To answer the previous question: I was raised with an open mind. I was taught that in order to complete bigger and better things one must not be afraid to step out of their own comfort zone. I was told that if I set my mind to something, and worked hard enough, I could do anything in world. Thank you for that.
  • Stress
    • If you have never seen me pack or travel, then you have absolutely no idea how stressful packing is for me. I usually stay up late, pack at least 3 times more than I need and would probably pack hoodies and sweat pants to go to Hawaii… Explain how packing with that system will work while trying to pack for 4.5 months in 2 suitcases… It doesn’t. And I have 19 days to figure out how to pack.

Now the simple fact that I’m blogging instead of making a nice organized list, laying out clothes or reading books upon books about Ghana should be proof enough that though Studying Aboard is for me, I have another goal in mind. I want to help YOU. I want to be readily available for the next individual who is studying in Ghana. Or the individual who just doesn’t know where they want to study. Or the individual who is in a place in their life that their past is not where they want to be and their future isn’t clear. That’s what Rural Girl Dreams is about: Helping others.

