Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I may have been leaving you out of the loop. Sorry!

In January I decided that my international travels weren’t quite done, as if anyone ever thought they were! 🙂

I will be leaving on Sunday, May 18th, 2014 for Maringá, Brazil! Don’t worry, I won’t be gone too long. I’ll only be in Brazil for 10 days. I know, that’s not long enough! I will be participating in a Short-term Study Away program through the School of Agriculture at Missouri State University. This program will take place at Unicesumar and will consist of 14 students at 2 faculty members from MSU.

The course is titled Sustainability, the Environment, and Globalization in the Developing World. Hello! Exactly where my passion is found! I personally am completing my study on cooperatives in Brazil and how they lead to a more sustainable population.

But there’s more to our trip than just course work, while in Brazil we will be able to travel to Iguazu Falls, which finds a place on the UNESCO World Heritage List.

Our group has a blog you are welcome to checkout. Our first posts, which are up now, introduces you to all of us. Mine is titled: ‘When You Catch the Travel Bug, You Keep Going!’ Be sure to check our blog during our trip.

In addition to Missouri State’s travel to Brazil, 10 students and 5 faculty members from Brazil are currently completing a 10 day study in Springfield.

Image

This is part of the group, American and Brazilian, that visited a farm outside Springfield.

I look forward to sharing all of my travels with you!

Until next time I’ll leave you with one of my new favorite quotes:

“I see my path, but I don’t know where it leads. Not knowing where I’m going is what inspires me to travel it.”

Rosalia de Castro

 

